Welcome to Institute of Smart Structures and Systems

Institute for Smart Structures and Systems (ISSS) was founded in the year 1999 to promote the Smart Technology in India. Dr. V.K Aatre, the former Scientific Advisor to Defence Minister (Raksha Mantri), Government of India, as its founder president.

Please see the brochure to know more about types of membership and benefits. To apply for membership please download the application form and send it to the address mentioned in the form. [Application form]. Signatures by two members are required. See the life member database for finding members in your area. Please contact us in case of any difficulty.

Upcoming Events

ISSS Chapters

  • Coimbatore Chapter:
    A Chapter with Tamilnadu and Kerala as its jurisdiction has been formed in 2012.  This Chapter is operating from PSG College of Technology.
  • Pune Chapter:
    This Chapter has jurisdiction over Maharashtra, Goa, and Gujrat.  This Chapter is operating since 2013 from R&DE (Engrs.) in Pune.
  • Vishakhapatnam Chapter:
    This Chapter has jurisdiction over Andhra Pradesh.  This Chapter is operating since 2015 from Andhra University College of Engineering, Vishakhapatnam.

Institutional/Corporate Members of ISSS

  • B.M.S. College of Engineering
  • Centre for Air Borne Systems(CABS)
  • Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute
  • Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute, Kolkata
  • Defence Institute of Advanced Technology (Deemed University)
  • Defence Metallurgical Research Lab (Po) Kanchanbagh
  • Defence R&D Establishment, Dehradun
  • Defence Research & Development Laboratory Hyderabad
  • Instruments R&D Establishment Rajpur Road, Dehradun
  • Laser Science & Technology Centre Ministry of Defence
  • M.S.Ramaiah Institute of Technology
  • National Aerospace Laboratories Bangalore
  • National Metallurgical Laboratory Jamshedpur
  • Naval Material Research Laboratory Ministry of Defence
  • Naval Physical & Oceanographic Laboratory
  • SMVIT, Dept of Mechanical Engg
  • Structural Engineering Research Centre, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research
  • Thiagarajar College of Engineering
  • Velammal College of Engg. & Tech. Madurai

Latest Issue - SUKSHMA

Vol. 11, No. 1, Jan. - Mar. 2018

 The ISSS newsletter about Micro and Smart Systems in India


biannual technical journal of the institute of smart structures and systems