About Us

ISSS is a Professional Society that helps to keep pace with the advances being made and give impetus to the emerging Smart technology in India. It organizes an international conference every three years on Smart Materials, Structures and MEMS, which has helped to bridge the gaps between the advanced level of technology abroad and the R&d effort in India. In addition, it organizes and supports various national conferences and awareness workshops in this area. It also provides a common forum for the scientists and researchers working in various inter-related fields. Basic aim of this Society is to foster dedicated research among Indian scientists in this vital, state-of-the-art/cutting edge technology.

The hub of activities of this Professional Society is located in IISc, Bangalore- the Silicon Valley of India. The city has various Aerospace, Electronics, Information Technology and other hi-tech establishments. This Society formed by a core group of scientists and experts will have access to infrastructure and scientific support of all DRDO, CSIR, DAE, DOS Laboratories and Academic Institutions in various cities of the country.

Click to Download the Activities of the Society.

Bylaws of the Society

The society is governed by bye laws as registered with appropriate authorities.  A copy of these are available to download.  These have been amended to include formation of Chapters at various locations.  [Society Byelaws]

Governing Council
President Prof. G.K. Ananthasuresh, ME, IISc, Bangalore
Vice President Dr. B. Vidyashankar, General Electric, Bengaluru
Member Secretary Prof Veda Sandeep, NMIT, Bengaluru
Treasurer Dr. V. Sudhakar, ADA, Bengaluru
Members Prof. A. Arockiarajan, IIT Madras, Chennai
Prof. Chandrasree Das BMS CE, Bengaluru
Dr. Vishal Dhamgaye, RRCAT, Indore
Dr. M.S. Giridhar, LEOS, Bengaluru
Dr. Anjana Jain, NAL, Bengaluru
Prof. Lakshmi S., MSRIT, Bemgluru
Dr. Prosenjit Sen, CeNSE, IISc, Bengaluru

Prof Anurekha Sharma, Kurukshetra Univ

Immediate Past President  Prof. K.J. Vinoy, IISc, Bengaluru
Founder President Dr. V.K. Aatre Director General (Rtd.) Defense R&D, Visiting Professor, ECE Dept., IISC Bangalore
Chairman of Pune Chapter Shri. Guruprasad, Director, R&DE (Engrs) Pune
Chairman of Coimbatore Chapter Prof. Kandaswamy, PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore
Chairman of Andhra Pradesh Chapter Prof. Rama Kotireddy, Andhra University College of Engineering, Vishakapatnam
Past Presidents Prof. B. Dattaguru, Jain Univ., Bangalore
Prof. Vikram Kumar, IIT Delhi, New Delhi
Prof. S. Mohan, CeNSE, IISc, Bangalore
Dr. A.R. Upadhya, ADA, Bangalore
Dr. P.D. Mangalgiri, Formerly ADA, Bangalore
Prof. K Natarajan, MSRIT, Bangalore

Prof. S. B. Krupanidhi, MRC , IISc, Bangalore

Prof. S. Gopalakrishnan, Aerospace Engg, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Chairs of Sub-committees (Invitees)
Education Prof. Veda S., NMIT, Bangalore
Industry Liaison Prof. S. Mohan, CeNSE, IISc, Bangalore
International Relations Dr. A.R. Upadhya, NPMASS, ADA, Bangalore
Newsletter (Sukshma) Dr. B.R. Vidyashankar, General Electric, Bangalore
Standards Dr. P.D. Mangalgiri
Editor-in-Chief: Journal Prof. B. Dattaguru, Jain Univ., Bangalore

Chapters of ISSS

Coimbatore Chapter: A Chapter with Tamilnadu and Kerala as its jurisdiction has been formed in 2012.  This Chapter is operating from PSG College of Technology.

Pune Chapter: This Chapter has jurisdiction over Maharashtra, Goa, and Gujrat.  This Chapter is operating since 2013 from R&DE (Engrs.) in Pune.

Vishakhapatnam Chapter: This Chapter has jurisdiction over Andhra Pradesh.  This Chapter is operating since 2015 from Andhra University College of Engineering, Vishakhapatnam.
[Chapter Byelaws]

Distinguished Service Awards

ISSS presents distinguished service awards to deserving individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the research and development of the Micro and Smart Systems areas in India through their academic or professional work, service to ISSS or service to national initiatives/programmes.  Nominees are selected solely by the Governing Council and no nominations or representations are solicited for this special honor.  In the past, the society have recognized the following individuals

2006 ISSS National Conference Hyderabad: Dr. Vasudev Aatre, Prof. B. Dattaguru, Dr. Prasad Rao and Dr. Kota Harinarayana

2007 ISSS 2nd National Conference, Pilani: Prof. Vikram Kumar and Prof. A. Selvarajan

2009 ISSS 3rd National Conference, Kolkota :  Prof. KN Bhat, Dr. H.S. Maiti and Prof. S.K. Lahiri

2010 ISSS 4th National Conference, Nagpur: Prof. S. Mohan and Dr. P.S. Nair

2012 ISSS 6th International Conference, Bangalore: Prof. V.K. Varadan

2012 ISSS 5th National Conference, Coimbatore: Prof. Shiban K. Koul and Dr. A.R. Upadhya

2013 ISSS 6th National Conference, Pune: Dr. Lasar Mathew, Prof. S.A. Gangal and Dr. P.D. Mangalgiri

2014 ISSS 7th International Conference, Bangalore: Dr. Vasudev K. Aatre

2015 ISSS 7th National Conference, Kochi:  Dr, K. Vijayaraju and Dr. K. Natarajan

2016 ISSS 8th National Conference, Kanpur: Prof. Ramgopal Rao and Prof. S.B. Krupanidhi

2018 ISSS 9th National Conference,  Madurai: Dr. Manjunatha M. Nayak

2019 ISSS 10th National Conference,  Nitte: Prof. S. Gopalakrishnan and Prof Enakshi Bhattacharyya